Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Global Elm Dance for the Work That Reconnects

Mar 19 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm PDT

|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on Mar 20, 2022 at 10:00 am

FREE

The Elm Dance, a practice for global healing and connection, invites us into the center of our hearts, our compassion, our longing to live, and our belonging to all life on Earth. It also supports us in standing in solidarity with those who are suffering.

A brief history and description of the Elm Dance can be found here.

Joanna Macy was first introduced to the Elm Dance and began offering it in the early 1990s, as part of her workshops, in communities that were impacted by the Chernobyl nuclear disaster. She continued to offer the Elm Dance as a daily practice in workshops and intensives throughout her career. Activists around the world share the dance in public protests. Many facilitators offer the Elm Dance as part of their work to invite participants into their feelings of gratitude and grief.

Typically danced in a group setting, we offer it here as a global, virtual experience. We invite you to join us, to learn more about the dance, to experience it, and to share it with your communities.

You’re welcome to gather a group and attend this virtual offering together to dance along with people around the world at the same time. We also encourage you to facilitate the Elm Dance in your local community during the week following the event and share videos of your group dancing through the WTR Network Facebook Page to participate in the Week of the Elm Dance as we collectively focus our energies on peace and wellness for all beings.

For questions about these events and the Week of the Elm Dance please email [email protected].

Saturday, March 19
@ 5pm PDT / 8pm EDT
Sunday, March 20
@ 8am CST (China) / 11am AET

Check your time zone here

Sunday, March 20
@ 10am PDT / 1pm EDT / 5pm GMT / 11:30pm IST

Check your time zone here

Kathleen Rude I am a Work That Reconnects facilitator and mentor, a shamanic practitioner and an author. I fell in love with the natural world as a child and found my voice for environmental activism at age 11. I have a BS in Wildlife Ecology and an MS in Natural Resources. I began her career as an environmental writer, a profession I embraced for 18 years. I’ve had the great privilege to be mentored by elders in the Blackfoot, Northern Ute and Lakota traditions and in core shamanism and have received their blessings to conduct ceremony. Their wisdom informs my healing practice. Yearning for a path that combined spirituality and environment causes, I knew I’d come home when I first found the Work That Reconnects and Joanna Macy over 15 years ago. I’ve been mentored by Joanna, co-facilitated with her and have worked closely with her and others to help envision and support the future of the Work. I facilitate workshops both online and in person. I have published a novel, The Redemption of Red Fire Woman. I am currently working on a non-fiction book, How to Become An Every Day Difference Maker. Joanna opened my heart/mind to the dangers of nuclear power, so I now serve as a board member of Nuclear Energy Information Service, a nuclear power watchdog organization, opposing nuclear power and promoting sustainable renewable energy. I recharge my spirit by helping to restore native habitats, savoring beauty and singing in celebration of life. You may connect with Kathleen at: www.gaiawisdom.org.

Frieda Nixdorf

The thread that underscores all Frieda’s work is the recognition of the healing and regenerative powers of nature and her commitment to serving the planet and growing the cultural shift of the Great Turning. In addition to mothering a young human who is on the brink of venturing out into the world, she offers her gifts as a soul aligned purpose guide and mentor, a group facilitator, teacher, a playful and connected weaver of dream world imagery and tender of earth consciousness. Frieda’s background is in psychology, education, art history, visual culture, expressive arts and the non-profit environmental field. She currently serves as adjunct faculty at John F. Kennedy University and staff mentor at Purpose Guides Institute. You may connect with Frieda at: www.lifeintheconfluence.com

Details

Date:
Mar 19
Time:
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
PDT
Cost:
FREE
Event Categories:
, ,

Venue

Virtual Offering
CA

Organiser

    Other

    Event Type
    Online
    Are scholarships available for this event?
    Yes
    Event Contact Information
    Frieda Nixdorf